Uncategorized

The Cappuccino Scarf II

As you may know if you follow me on Instagram, lately I’ve been in a phase of revisiting my old patterns (and by “old” I mean from like 2016-2017, I’m still a fairly new designer) and trying to fix…basically everything.

I did this first with my Lycka Cowl, which was my first paid pattern. I didn’t change anything about the stitching on that one but I do plan to update pictures and some phrasing, so that update will be out in the next week or two.

And then I moved on to my FIRST EVER PATTERN, which was a very exciting landmark for me! I started crocheting in roughly 2012-ish and it took me that long to make my first pattern. Literally years.

If you’re interested in my thought processes around this very first pattern and what it originally was, see the original blog post here. It’s nothing exciting, and in fact it’s a little embarrassing to look back at. But who doesn’t feel that way sometimes? The funniest part is how many times I mention that I’ll come back and take better pictures or fix things up…and that was November of 2016. Oops.

I also didn’t really consider the fact that when people use your pattern, they will totally not use the same yarn/colorway that you did. So there’s no point in naming your pattern after the colorway you used. That was super intelligent of me, I named it after the Caron Cake color that I used for the first one.

So although it’s named the Cappuccino Scarf because the original Caron Cake was shades of brown and cream…let’s just say it’s a scarf for drinking cappuccinos now. I’d like to rename it but it’s not really a new pattern and I don’t want to erase my past (bad) decisions.

So anyway, below is the new and improved pattern!

PATTERN:

Yarn: 200-300 yards worsted.

  • This pattern was written for cake yarns specifically. My first one was a Caron Cake (about 2/3rds of one) and my updated version used exactly one Sweet Roll cake. It’s very simple to customize in order to match colors up or get exactly the length you want.

Hook: J/6mm

  • I’ve also had good success with I/5.5mm. Play around with it depending on your tension, the specific yarn used, and your desired drape.

Stitches:

  • HDC: half-double crochet
  • DC: double crochet

Notes:

  • Chain 2 at the beginning of each row DOES count as a stitch. It’s acting as the DC for that pair of stitches.
    • This does seem odd when you “skip” these chains at the end of each row, but it gives the sides a nice matching texture where neither is bunching or bumpy. This took some trial and error.
  1. Chain 25. In 3rd chain from hook, HDC. *Skip 1 chain, DC & HDC in same chain.* Repeat across, ending with DC & HDC in the final chain. (24)
  2. Chain 2, HDC in same stitch. Skip next stitch. *DC & HDC in next stitch, skip next stitch* (You’ll be doing these into each HDC of the previous row). Repeat across.
  3. Repeat row 2 until your desired length! Or until your cake runs out. Or whenever you feel it’s long enough. Whatever feels right to you! I prefer to match my end color to my starting color for a nicer seam.
  4. Seam up the two ends with your desired strategy! I use mattress stitch because it’s relatively invisible.

I hope you enjoy! This makes for a very easy and quick pattern.

Leave a comment